Why I’m Obsessed with Frida Kahlo

Born 6th June 1907 Magdalena Carmen Frida Kahlo y Calderon.

Died 13 June 1954 Frida Kahlo de Rivera. 

Exactly a week after her birthday, Frida Kahlo’s body couldn’t any longer. Her spirit and the legacy she left us behind lives on.


 

Her grace… better known as “Frida Kahlo”

Ahhh. *sighs* *swoons*

This woman of such kindred spirit and talented beauty embodies everything I want to be. I have made it a life goal to see her 200 paintings, sketches, and drawings. She has become a pop culture icon and sure, everyone loves to hop on the bandwagon, but I’m here to tell you to cut that shit out. This blog post hopefully explains why I get an eye twitch when people don’t even know her real name or the era and significance of her life’s work. I have a backpack of the woman’s face and photograph on it. Let’s get real, I’m a little obsessed. Seriously, though, do your research before you start repping something or someone hardcore. No worries. I’m here to do the research for you 🙂 I hope you love her as much as I do after this post!

Frida Kahlo was a born revolutionary. Straight out of the Mexican Revolution (1910-1920), she held autonomy as her forefront trait. Especially during such a critical period, a woman pursuing liberal arts was a feat within itself and unheard of. Everything she did was straight from the reality of her life. She was one of the earliest feminist and LGBTQ advocates for the Mexican society. She was married, divorced, miscarried twice, bisexual, poor, wealthy, operated on, became a professor, received awards, held liable for radical ideas, and never ceased to fight throughout her 47 years. She turned her traffic accident, a tragedy, into her legacy. She took control of a dire situation and painted her reality. How could I not fall in love with her? Frida Kahlo has been a prominent figure in my feminist ideals and a true Mexican idol worthy of an obsession since she was first introduced to me in my third-grade art class.

Disclaimer: I did not nearly honor or appreciate her as when I was handicapped, at a complete and total loss in school, work, family, friends, and suicidal. Her passion for life ignited mine every time I would read her biography or watch Salma Hayek’s marvelous depiction of Frida Kahlo.

A revolutionary. Mexican. A woman. A feminist advocate. An LGBTQ advocate. Animal-lover. An individual born and bred out of solitude and tragedy. A victim of her vices, but unapologetic and honest.


I’m proud to be the same descent as Frida Kahlo. Viva!

 

 

-sta

Leave a Reply

