Dear Aphasone,

*cue the music* “Amigas. Cheetahs. Friends. For. Life”

A HUGE thank you to my family and friends offering their encouragement and positivity for my blog. I love you and appreciate you for being you. I appreciate the people who took the time out of their day to peer into my mind.


 

I wanted to share a bullet point I wrote down during my Kayo-Kai meeting. (Yes, I am the one always taking notes on a piece of paper, journal, planner, Google Docs, etc.)

“There’s no poison you can’t turn into medicine.”
-YWD SGI-USA

(http://www.sgi.org/about-us/buddhism-in-daily-life/changing-poison-into-medicine.html)

In case you want further explanation.

I want to dedicate this blog post to one of my pillars of support, Aphasone. Thank you for being a sanctuary. You empower me as a human being, as a woman, as a friend. You have always taken life with a grain of salt. You have always rooted for me. I think this is a beautiful concept. You love yourself in such a fulfilling way that it makes me want to do the same.

You contacted me shortly after I debuted my blog and I thank you so much for your unwavering support. I wanted to share with everyone how much I adore Sam.

“… know that I think of you all the time and my energy sends positive vibes to you every day even though you’re on the other side of the country! You inspire me so sooooooo much. You’re the most incredible woman I know and I’m so honored to share this life with you as my best friend!”

– On that note, I never had many women to look up to as role models and I struggle with identity all the time still. Like what kind of woman do I want to be? I want to be successful but how can I be successful when I didn’t have any successful women to look up to?” I love you so much and thank you for being someone that I can look up to. This isn’t a cry for help but really just me sharing my past and how it’s shaped me to be the woman I am today… I believe that I am strong enough for anything. I give myself a lot of props because everything that I am today and who I am and how I radiate my energy is all because of me… I shaped myself to be independent and finally emotionally/logically stable enough to help others and to help myself when I have my bad days….Just know that I understand you and how complex your mind is and that I’m just always here and rooting for your health, ambitions, and everything you decide to do with your life. Whenever you need me, I am will always be here for you. Good night. Love you, always. xoxo. happy belated women’s day, may we always empower one another ❤ <3”

Isn’t she so adorable? Ah. I am trying to compose a playlist that consists of my favorite peoples’ songs. I’ll have the Spotify as we go along. Aphasone, I choose you! As my first direct letter, as my first song of the playlist, and I cannot thank you enough for being in my life.

I’m listening to “Down By The Water” by The Drums. This song reminds me of you because you had your headphones in on the train coming home from Olive Garden and you had me hear some of your day-to-day playlist. Thank you for sharing a part of you and your music taste. (Shoutout to our waitress for giving us extra chocolates.) When you and A. Bougie came to New York I felt reinvigorated. I loved having many people gathered in one space. You guys cushioned my current heartbreak at the time. 

I think many women face the same struggles and Aphasone perfectly summarized this in her personal sentiments.


      When we search for inspiration or role models, I find this comes unexpectedly and in the best of ways. You will discover yourself in due time, but please remember you are original. You are your own trademark. You are a mountain. 

My fellow ladies, gentlemen, in-betweeners, undecided… Please. PLEASE. Remember that you are important. You control yourself and situations. You do not let someone make you feel inferior. Turn that poison into medicine, baby.

 

your bff,

Sage

Leave a Reply

