#ReformThe13th

Thank you, Ava DuVernay.


 

A sincere round of applause for yet another stunning film. Please everyone reading this, go watch 13th on Netflix.

I have no words to encompass this film as a whole. I cried, I got angry, I nodded my head, and now is the time for action. My ideas have sprouted and I will reopen my Etsy shop. Stay tuned for that.

I will now leave you all with some brain food.

 

  • “(The prison system)… is a system of dehumanization and deprivation of senses…
  • “…it is not enough to deprive you of your liberty.”
  • Incarcerated people wear this “scarlet letter”
  • Interviewees elaborate on the fact that the question “Have you ever been convicted of a felony?” tags individuals who have already paid their dues. Individuals are forced to be restricted from student loans, business licenses, food stamps, housing, and the right to vote. 
  • “…(The U.S.) has not ended racial caste, but redesigned it.”
  • “Every 1 in 3 young black males go to jail or prison in their lifetime.”
  • [Reporter] “Black males constitute roughly around 6.5% of the U.S. population, however, constitute 40.2% of the prison population.”
  • “97% of the prison population has not had a trial.”

 

We see these statistics every day out on the streets. African-American men and women are demonized in the media. The current administration has targeted you, but your fight has been long-lived. Protect yourself through knowledge. Black is only a color, a matter of pigmentation, and biological inheritance. You are all brothers and sisters to me. You are all beautiful. I stand with you. I fight for you.

 

“Injustice anywhere is a threat to injustice everywhere.”

-Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.


 

sta.

Leave a Reply

